NWFL clubs set for Betsey Obaseki tourney

The second edition of the Betsey Obaseki Women’s Football Tournament will hold between Sept. 7 and 17 in Benin City, Edo State.

Edo State Deputy Governor, Philip Shaibu, who made this known at a press conference on Wednesday in Benin City, said the invitational event would feature Nigeria Women’s Football League Premiership side and two other clubs in the state.

Shaibu, who is also the Vice Chairman, Board of Trustees of the tournament, said the teams are Bayelsa Queens, Edo Queens, Nasarawa Amazons, Delta Queens, Confluence Queens and Osun Babes. Others are Rivers Angels, Sunshine Queens, Naija Ratels and Royals Queens, while Fortress Ladies FC and Brave Heart FC are the local sides who will also play in the competition.

The Deputy Governor announced a cash prize of N5m for the winners, with the first runners-up receiving N3m, while second and third runners-up get N1.5m and N750,000 respectively. The  other participating teams would get N500,000.

He said matches would hold at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium, University of Benin Sports Complex and two mini stadia at the School of Health Technology and Western Boys Secondary School.

The draw for the competition has been scheduled for Aug. 24, with the 36 state’ First Ladies billed to grace the closing ceremony.

Shaibu said the event has come to stay as a pre-season event for women’s football clubs in the country.

“This year’s event is going to be interesting. The theme for the 2021 event was used to promote girl-child education; this year’s theme will be to campaign against illicit drugs and human trafficking,” he said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *