15th annual Headies Awards introduces three new categories

The 15th annual Headies Awards, which were held at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre in Atlanta on Sunday (Sept. 4), introduced three new categories.


The newly introduced categories are” International artiste of the year, Best inspirational single and Digital artiste of the year.


The event, which was the first time the show has been held outside of Nigeria, had Wizkid and Tems emerge the top winners, with the smash “Essence” that won song of the year and best R&B single.


Wizkid and Tems collaborated on “Essence” which became a top 10 hit on the Billboard Hot 100 in October 2021 (with an assist by Justin Bieber).


In addition to their two joint awards, Wizkid won album of the year for “Made in Lagos” (Deluxe Edition), while Tems won best female artiste and best R&B album for “If Orange Was a Place”.


Patoranking, Burna Boy, FireBoyDML, Ayra Starr and Bnxn each won two awards.


Patoranking won best recording of the year for “Celebrate Me” and best reggae & dancehall album for Three.


Burna Boy took African artiste of the year and best male artiste.


FireBoyDML won best Afrobeats single for “Peru” and best music video for “Champion” (featuring D Smoke).


Ayra Starr won digital artiste of the year and Headies’ viewers’ choice for “Bloody Samaritan.”


Bnxn won the Next rated: award and also shared in the award for best rap single as the featured artist on Ladipoe’s “Feeling.”


Chris Brown won international artiste of the year, beating Bieber, Beyoncé, Drake, Ed Sheeran and Nas.


The category is designed for non-African artists or groups with outstanding achievements and impact on Afrobeats.


Artists that appeared at the show included Tiwa Savage, Wizkid, FireBoyDML, Adekunle Gold, Davido, Flavour, Kcee, Buju, Lojay, Goya Menor, Cohbams, 2Baba, Joeboy, Rugier, Olamide and Asake.


aprokovibes.com reports that Headies is the top Nigerian/Pan African awards show, celebrating the best in Afrobeats, African music and culture.


The awards, originally called the Hip Hop World Awards, was established in 2006 by the Hip Hop World Magazine of Nigeria to recognize outstanding achievements in the Nigerian music industry.


See complete list of winners:

Best recording of the year:

“Celebrate Me” – Patoranking


Album of the year:

Made In Lagos (Deluxe Edition) – Wizkid


Song of the year:

“Essence” – Wizkid Feat. Tems


Best female artiste:



Best male artiste:

Burna Boy


Digital artiste of the year:

Ayra Starr


Best streethop artiste:

Goya Menor & Nektunez – “Amenor Amapiano Remix”


African Artiste of the year:

Burna Boy (Nigeria)


International artiste recognition:

Chris Brown


Best central African artiste of the year:



Best West African artiste of the year:

Gyakie (Ghana)


Best North African artiste of the year:

Latifa (Tunisia)


Best Southern African artiste of the year:

Focalistic (South Africa)


Best East African artiste of the year:

Diamond Platinumz


Best vocal performance (male):

Oxlade – Ojuju


Best vocal performance (female):

Waje – “Last Time”


Lyricist on the roll:

A-Q – “The Last Cypher”


Best rap single:

“Feeling” – Ladipoe feat. Bnxn


Best music video:

“Champion” (Fireboy DML Feat. D Smoke) Directed by Tg Omori


Best rap album:

Carpe Diem – Olamide


Best reggae & dancehall album:

Three – Patoranking


Producer of the year:

Sarz – “Monalisa” By Lojay & Sarz


Best inspirational single:

“Cultural Praise” – Kcee & Okwesili Eze Group


Songwriter of the year:

Adekunle Gold – “Sinner”


Best R&B single:

“Essence” – Wizkid feat. Tems


Best Afrobeats single

“Peru” – Fireboy DML


Best alternative single:

“Doings” – Flavour


Best alternative album:

Intermission – Ibejii


Special recognition (outstanding impact on the entertainment industry):

Efe Omorogbe

Sunday Are

Bose Ogulu


Special recognition (talent):



Headies’ viewer’s choice:

Ayra Starr – Bloody Samaritan


Next rated:



Best R&B album:

If Orange Was a Place – Tems


Rookie of the year:



Humanitarian award of the year:



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *